The Hazel T. Nelson Scholarship Fund awarded $11,625.00 in grants to 12 graduates of Hiawatha High School attending college and graduate school in the upcoming academic year, according to Citizens State Bank and Trust Company, which administers the fund.

Mrs. Nelson, a resident of Hiawatha, passed away in 1987 and made several large, charitable bequests. Scholarships have been granted for 30 years and may continue for 50 years from inception.

Undergraduate students receiving awards are; Garrett Binns, Kansas State Univeristy; Lydia Lierz, Kansas State University; Katharine Rosa, Kansas State University; Brynn Swearingen, Kansas State University; Jeremy Tryon, Kansas State University; Annie Weingart, University of Kansas; and Conner Winters, University of Kansas.

Students attending graduate schools and receiving awards are: Valerie Binns, University of Kansas School of Medicine, Wichita; Jack Nolte, University of Kansas School of Medicine, Kansas City; Brianna Schmitz, Emporia State University; Brynn Wright, University of Kansas School of Medicine, Wichita; Malissa Ironhorse-Kent, Peru State College.

The Hazel T. Nelson Scholarship Fund makes financial assistance available to graduates of Hiawatha U.S.D. 415 who meet minimum requirements, demonstrating a strong academic performance and have completed a requisite number of college hours. In this 31st year of the scholarship, a total of $525,978.50 has been distributed from the original investment of $261,540.02.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.