Scholarship graphic

Citizens State Bank & Trust Company, Trustee for the Edna Mae Schmitt Scholarship, announced the 2022 awards recently. The Scholarships are renewable for three additional years without reapplying. Edna Mae Schmitt created the trust to benefit graduates of USD #415 and USD #430 with preference to students residing in the old Powhattan School District. Recipients were selected by committees from each school district, made up of the High School Principal, President of the school boards, a teacher selected by those two members, and the mayor of the City of Powhattan. Since the inception of the Edna Mae Schmitt Scholarship in 2010, there has been $33,500.00 in scholarships distributed.

This year’s recipients are Sidney Johansen and Trenton Sharp, Hiawatha High School and Trevor Ottman, Horton High School. Sidney plans to attend Highland Community College, Trenton plans to attend Highland Community College Technical Center and Trevor plans to attend Washburn University.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.