Vote graphic

The Brown County Clerk’s office has announced a new filings for this fall’s election.

Brown County Attorney Kevin Hill has filed by petition for re-election.

Brown County Register of Deeds, Nellie Brockhoff, has filed for the 2020 election by petition.

For Treasurer, Anne Olson, current employee in the Treasurer’s office, along with Betty (BJ) Spiker, current deputy in the Treasurer’s office, have filed for the position. Cheryl Lippold is the current Treasurer, but is not filing for re-election.

In other filings, Brown County Clerk, Melissa L. Gormley, has filed for re-election, as did Dwight A. Kruse, for his position of Brown County District 3 Commissioner.

Incumbent John D. Merchant Sr. has filed for Brown County Sheriff. He is being challenged by Hiawatha Police Cpt. Dennis Entrikin.

Other county positions that will be up for re-election include District Judge District 2 Division 2 — held by Judge John Weingart and County Commissioner for District 2 (Keith Olsen).

There will also be various city positions on the ballot this year — which is a presidential election year as well — but the County Clerk’s office said municipalities have until May 1 to verify those.

The Primary Election is Aug. 4, 2020, and the General Election is Nov. 3, 2020. Filing deadline is June 1, 2020.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.